Intuitive Coaching 101–Zen Coloring

330px-Eschscholzia_californica_California_Poppy

Who would have thought that adult coloring books would make it into headlines with the Chicago Tribune and New York Magazine or make it to the top of Amazon’s best-selling lists? Even the local library has a coloring for adults day. I didn’t think much of coloring books until…

Recently, during the Christmas holiday with my family, I learned that my mother had taken up coloring. She showed me numerous books and told me that the cheapest place to buy colored pencils and pens was the Dollar Store and she had done quite well for herself in this regard.

My sister had caught onto the trend too. She gifted me with Portable Color Me Calm by Lacy Mucklow MA (an art therapist) and artist Angela Porter. My brother gifted my sister with a large coloring book, and then I found out that one of the women I currently live with bought the other woman I live with a coloring book for Christmas.

DSCN0591

Never mind that the literary agents were lamenting on Twitter about that several coloring books for adults were the top-sellers on Amazon. This isn’t good news for literary agents who represent novelists and non-fiction writers and not coloring book artists. And on the metaphysical side, coloring of mandalas, seascapes, and natural settings offers a new type of meditation that fosters mindfulness. Even, publisher Hay House introduced a coloring book by Louise Hay, complete with affirmations.

Now, before you scoff at coloring books for adults, let’s take a look at benefits of this mindful analogue past time. First, it’s relaxing and involves color therapy. Second, it truly is a mindful practice that helps us unwind after a long day and can even lead to sitting or other types of meditation. Third, those of us lapsed artists or who studied art at college than did nothing with our skills, find that coloring leads us back into the fray, even if that’s visiting an art supply store to buy a good selection of colored pencils or pens.

What I like most is that we get off our computers and phones then spend the time engaging in a low-tech or no tech past time. With all the problems with cyber security and protecting privacy, no one is going to spy on us when we’re coloring in groups such as the coloring for adults day at the library or at home at the kitchen table. Why not invite a few colorist friends over and make it an evening of coloring and getting caught up on the details of each of our lives?

Now, I haven’t researched it yet, but I wouldn’t be surprised if therapists are bringing in coloring books and crayons to their sessions or starting support groups where coloring is the main event. Could this help adults with Attention Deficit Disorder? It certainly, has helped my mother get back her life after several years of experiencing chronic depression. Even her friends are gifting her with coloring books. It’s lovely to see my mother get passionate about something again.

Besides, now that I have joined the other coloring book enthusiasts, I enjoy sitting with my coloring book and pencils each evening and coloring a complicated pattern. I remember how to texture from college drawing classes and I’ve always enjoyed working with colors. At one point during my teenage years, I entertained the idea of becoming an interior decorator because I love the color spectrum.

I don’t know where men weigh in with coloring books since I’ve only met women thus far hopping on this trend. Are men too embarrassed to be seen coloring in public? Are they too shy to admit that one of their hobbies is coloring mandalas? And is this just a passing trend or a new way of engaging in low-tech activities that allows us to express our creative sides while also falling into deep relaxation before bedtime? You tell me.

If you enjoyed this article, please visit my author site, Belle Author. I’m an intuitive coach for creatives and an expert astrologer.

Articles on Adult Coloring Books:

New York Magazine

Chicago Tribune

Fortune

Wikipedia

 

About pnwauthor

I reside in the rainy Pacific NW (Washington State) where I write novels, short "green" fiction, and poetry. I also go for walks capturing the beauty around me on my digital and freelance as an arts and culture journalist. When I'm not doing all of the above (and sometimes multi-tasking), I research the healing power of music. You can learn more about that at Whole Music Experience, www.wholemusicexp.blogspot.com and I teach workshops on healing with music.
This entry was posted in holistic health, intuitive coaching, self help and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

